The ultimate challenge for a party planner

20121212-053319.jpg

(Photos by my awesome soon-to-be-official-step-daughter)

So what is the ultimate challenge for an over the top party planner like myself… Where every detail should flow and be tied to one another???

Planning an amazing wedding to the love of her life… In 2 months and with a budget smaller than the cost of new wheels for a tri bike πŸ˜‰

On December 1st, 2012 – my best friend and partner got down on his knee – in the rain, next to our chosen Christmas Tree, and asked me to be his wife in front of our amazing kids… It ranks as one of the happiest days of my life (besides, of course, the births of our kids)….

After initially thinking about eloping.. We have decided on a small backyard wedding at a friends house…

We decided that with so many big things coming (ironman Los Cabos, a cross country move, Christmas, etc..) we would rather have a very small, intimate event that celebrates us, our journey and our love and stays focused on that and not the china we are using.. Or the flowers.. Even though the bride in me is screaming for peonies.. LOL

Let me tell you!!! This is a huge challenge… At least for me it is when I LOVE every detail of event planning… Coordinating a look and feel of the invitations (we are going electronic)… The lines and flowers and food, etc…

But ya know what… As much as I love all of that stuff… That’s all it is.. Knowing that we will end up being married in front of our family and friends is what it is all about.. And I would choose a 2 month engagement and a quiet ceremony – that doesn’t break the bank or set us back in our future goals.. Over a 2yr engagement and saving for a wedding that costs the same as a new car….

While perusing Pinterest (I AM a bride to be after all!) I saw a quote that sums it up perfectly! “I want a marriage that is more beautiful than my wedding”….

It will be amazing because we are there together with our kids by our sides…

But stay tuned because I am sure to be sharing details….

All of that aside.. I need to share our amazing ring.

My guy had my grandmothers ring (that she wore for almost 70yrs) reset into an A.MAZING setting…. He worked with Jim Wiesner from J. Wiesner Jewelers in La Jolla, CA! He was referred by a friend of ours and I am soooooo thankful that Eric choose to go with them. Via email and phone – this amazing ring was created to celebrate our journey and encompass my grandparents legacy… Their work is incredible and of you are thinking about a ring, necklace, earrings or whatever.. We HIGHLY recommend Jim and Chuck!

http://www.jwiesner.com/Β  (Seriously… CALL THEM….)

20121212-054655.jpg

20121212-054730.jpg

20121212-054754.jpg

This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The ultimate challenge for a party planner

  1. Rachel says:

    The ring is so gorgeous and thoughtful! Congratulations! πŸ™‚ — a new reader

Leave a Reply

